Registry Compliance Logo

Utah Law Information

Utah prohibits the sending of any message that "... advertises a product or service that a minor is prohibited by law from purchasing; or ... contains or advertises material that is harmful to minors." Currently prohibited products and services include:

  • Alcoholic Beverages or Products
  • Any Form of Tobacco
  • Pornographic Materials
  • Illegal Drugs
  • Gambling Services
  • Prostitution

You cannot send a prohibited message to any address that has been on the Utah registry for more than 30 days. Therefore, each time you send your messages, you must scrub your lists if more than 30 days have elapsed since your previous scrub.

The Utah Division of Consumer Protection has set the scrub fee per address at one-half of a cent ($0.005). This fee covers the costs of maintaining the registry and enforcing the law.

Those marketers in violation of the Utah Child Protection Registry act may face felony charges and both civil and criminal penalties ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 per message.

For specific legal information about the Utah Child Protection Registry, please refer to the statute, associated Administrative Rules, and policy statements issued by the Division of Consumer Protection:

For more information, please visit Utah's website: